I’ll Start// DJ Strobe’s Collection

So this is part visual, and part interview. I ask questions, you answer, and supply me with some awesome pics of your vinyl. I’ll get the ball rolling.

Name:

DJ Strobe

Location:

Ontario, Canada.

My bio:

When I’m not collecting records, I am in the studio remixing and producing or working on my weekly mixshows.

Years DJing/collecting:

About 35. Yikes.

Do you remember the first record you ever bought?

My parents had a pretty big collection of records, mostly artists like Elton John, Barry Manilow and Barbara Striestand, but the first record I remember walking into a store and buying was Michael Jacksons “Off The Wall” and Depeche Mode’s “Speak And Spell” around 1981.

Approximate number of records in your collection:

Rough estimate, about 4,000.

Genres you collect:

I would say 60% of my collection is classic house and club from the 80s through 2002. Followed by 80s New Wave, then disco, then whatever rock/soul/funk/hip hop I have kept in my collection that I still love.

I also have two collection quests if you will, to get all the vinyl with Keith Haring designs on them, and for some strange reason, albums with wicker peacock chairs on the cover. I have all but 2 of the Haring covers, and lord knows how many covers there actually are with the peacock chairs on them, but I have about 50 of them. I’ll do a separate post about those another time.

Artist you have the most records by/Label you have the most records by:

This is easy. Todd Terry & Strictly Rhythm. I am 90% sure I have the most complete pre-2000 collection of Todd Terry vinyl anywhere. And living in New York during the 90s, I used to grab every Strictly Rhythm promo I could from the label, so I have about 70% of the entire catalog currently.

After Todd Terry, the artists I have the most of are Depeche Mode, Pal Joey, The Mad Frenchman, and Masters At Work.

How are your records arranged?

By genre, and by artist & labels. I do not have them alphabetized in any way shape or form, but I do group records by the same artists together.

Is there a holy-grail record/records you’re still trying to get?

There are two. The first is “Crack Is Wack” by Bipo with the Keith Haring cover (you have one to sell lol) and the other is “10 Ragas To A Disco Beat” by Charanjit Singh.

Favorite place to dig/favorite record shop:

Jerry’s Records in Pittsburgh, Pa and Play De Record in Tornto, Ontario. I definitely want to go to Japan and dig. I do miss the 90s living in New York, there were so many amazing and legendary stores.

Anything else?

I also collect vintage portable turntables, audio gear, and boomboxes as well as random music collectables.

Any social media and projects you want to promote:

You can find me over at www.djstrobe.com and you can also hear me every weekend over on mix93fm at 11pm Saturdays for AFTER PURRTY and Sundays at 3pm for THE VIBE and at 10pm for the AFTER PURRTY replay. I also post each weeks sets on my mixcloud (link at my website)

http://www.mixcoud.com/djstrobe


Posted

in

by

Comments

Leave a comment